Tough Traveling: Beloved Mounts

tough-traveling

 

Tough Traveling is an interesting and thought-provoking meme started by Nathan @ Fantasy Review Barn: each week Nathan chooses a topic from The Tough Guide to Fantasyland, by Diana Wynn Jones, and challenges everyone to come up with a list of books featuring that trope.

Come join the fun!

 

This week’s topic: Beloved Mounts

 

Of course Tolkien had to be my first source of inspiration, so here we go with SHADOWFAX,Shadowfax chief of the Mearas or Princes of Horses. His coat is silver-gray in daylight and next to invisible in darkness, and legend says he can understand human speech and run as fast as the wind.  Given, albeit grudgingly, to Gandalf by King Theoden, Shadowfax was wild and untamed and suffered no rider, but the Grey Wizard succeeded in befriending him and making him a trusted comrade in the many battles fought during the War of the Ring.  At the end of the Age, Shadowfax went with Gandalf across the water to the Undying Lands.

temeraireA more fantasy-oriented steed is TEMERAIRE, the dragon from Naomi Novik’s alternate history series. Hatched aboard a British ship that had captured its egg from a French vessel, Temeraire bonded with the ship’s captain William Laurence and they were both recruited by His Majesty’s Aerial Corps to battle against the Bonapartist army.  Intelligent, well-spoken and fluent in English, French and Mandarin – this last unsurprisingly, since Temeraire’s rare breed of Celestials hails from China – Temeraire is a mix of childish innocence, deep curiosity and fierce loyalty, that quickly gains him Laurence’s affection and devotion.

And from the memories of my far-off youth here comes a THOAT: Edgar Rice Burroughs Thoat-2described these animals in his John Carter novels – they are eight-legged (on Mars many creatures have more than four) with a large, flat tail and an equally large mouth that practically cuts their muzzle in two.  Slate-colored, with feet grading to yellow and white bellies, they are able to live off the moss growing on the surface of Mars: the smaller variety is as big an Earth horse, while the bigger one can reach 2,5 meters at the shoulder. Impressive…

 

Posted on March 26, 2015, in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Shadowfax! 🙂 I was seriously worried because I predicted he’d be the No. 1 choice this week but only 4 of us chose him, I think. Temeraire, on the other hand, seems to be the winner! It’s no wonder, though, she sounds amazing.

    Like

  2. I almost added either Shadowfax or Bill the pony to my list, but I decided I had too many already. Temeraire rocks! I love those books, and Temeraire might just (barely) edge out Laurence as my favorite character.

    Like

  3. Loved the John Carter pick. And we both had shadowfax, which makes me feel better about my picks. 🙂

    Like

  4. Shadowfax is a great choice. And the ‘thoats’ from Edgar Burrough’s – I’ve only just read that book – why didn’t this come to mind. Doh!
    Great list.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  5. Thoat. I saw a lot of repeats today but only saw one Thoat. Well done.

    Like

  6. Temeraire definitely is the clear winner, I knew they were popular books but they’re even more widely read than I thought! And great call on the Thoat, from my one experience with a John Carter novel I don’t think I remember them. Is that a shot from the movie though? I forgot they showed them!

    Like

  7. Great choices! Dragons are one of my favorite fantasy creatures and I love Novik’s dragons.

    Like

  8. Temeraire was definitely one of the most popular choices this week – and why not? He’s loyal, bookish, and a badass dragon to boot!

    Like

  9. I haven’t read any Burroughs so a Thoat was a new one on me. They look pretty cool!

    Like

  10. Shadowfax! 😀 I can think of several horses in the novels I’ve read, but two of my personal favorites are different creatures: Buckbeak the hippogriff (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkhaban), and Iorek Byrnison the armored bear (The Golden Compass).

    Like

Leave a Reply

