EVENT: It was a dark and stormy night…

Estella Society

This image is the property of Abigail Larson

Thanks to Lynn’s Book Blog I discovered a fascinating event running from September 1st to October 31st: it’s the tenth anniversary of Readers Imbibing Peril (or R.I.P. X).  Created by Carl V. Anderson from Stainless Steel Droppings, will be run this year by the Estella Society, and HERE you can find all the details your heart desires.

In short, it will mean sharing thoughts on books (or movies, or tv) that fall into these categories: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror and Supernatural – and, I believe, anything that mixes and matches them or falls into the shady corners between the various genres, who are noted for the abundance of said corners.  The intriguing words “what if…?” are indeed the catalyst for the most interesting narrative experiments, and I’m certain that I will discover many fascinating themes in the course of this event.

My choice has fallen on PERIL THE SECOND, where I will read and review two books (Tainted Blood by M.L. Brennan, and Mayhem by Sarah Pinborough) and PERIL ON THE SCREEN, where I will revisit one of the most dark, moody and above all scary episodes of Dr. Who, Blink.

Let’s open that eerily creaking door and… step into peril!  Who will dare to follow?  😈

ripnineperilsecond

ripnineperilscreen

Posted on September 15, 2015, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nice, I’m not participating in this event, but I’ve been on my own trying to find some scary/dark reads for around end of October 🙂 I am looking forward to see what you think of Mayhem, I loved it!

    Like

  2. So glad you’re joining in although I confess I’ve not posted anything over at the RIP site yet – but I have got a couple of books that I’ve read so I must go and put them up. I never really choose a peril – I just read and post away, oblivious in my own little bubble! It’s a great event for picking up some creepy recommendations though. I’ll be looking out for your review of Murder – I thought it surpassed Mayhem (and I really enjoyed Mayhem) to be honest. Really good.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

    • Yes, the “creepy recommendations” 🙂 will be a huge bonus in this event, even though they will lengthen an already too long reading list, but… no complaints!
      “Mayehm” was a great discovery (another of your recommendations, by the way) and if “Murder” is even better I can’t wait to start it. Who knows? I might even manage to add a third peril to my list for R.I.P. 10. We’ll see… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

