TOP FIVE WEDNESDAYS #8

This GoodReads group I recently discovered proposes a weekly meme whose aim is to give a list of Top Five… anything, as long as they are book related.

118368

After a long time in which I was not able to make the deadline with some acceptable ideas, I can at last return to this fun meme. This weeks’s theme is:

Most Recent Additions to Your Wishlist

Books you are dying to get your hands on for your collection.

It wasn’t easy to restrict my list to only five, because when it comes to books I always fall prey to the dreaded Gollum Syndrome (as in “mine, my own, my preciousssss…”), so here is the list of the books that have me ranting and raving in expectation.

THE GATES OF HELL, by Michael Livingston – second volume in the Shards of Heaven series: I fell in love with the first one, Shards of Heaven, and I’m more than looking forward to seeing how the story continues. This was my first taste of historical fantasy, and I must say it’s a very, very intriguing genre.

BABYLON’S ASHES, by James S.A. Corey – sixth book in the Expanse saga: space opera at its very best, now being turned, one book at a time, into an awesome tv series by SyFy. If you have not read any of these books yet, you should wait no longer. Trust me…

WOLF MOON, by Ian McDonald – second volume in the Luna series: last year, Luna, New Moon was a big revelation for me – my first book by Ian McDonald and an amazing story successfully mixing science fiction, intrigue and the darkness of the human soul.

WITH BLOOD UPON THE SAND, by Bradley Beaulieu – second book in the Song of Shattered Sands series: the first volume was a magical, immersive read, the kind that literally takes me away from the everyday world and makes me forget its existence. So, I’m anxiously waiting for some more magic.

THE COLLAPSING EMPIRE, by John Scalzi – the first book in a brand-new series by one of my very favorite authors: he writes them, I buy them and I’m never, ever disappointed. What more could I ask from a book?  🙂

What about you? What are the books on your Most Wanted list?

Posted on July 20, 2016, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Can’t wait for THE GATES OF HELL. That is definitely a book two I’m looking forward to tearing into. 🙂

    Like

  2. Must have The Gates of Hell – must have!! Not that I’m getting anxious at all. But I really must have that book in my life.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  3. Definitely looking forward to Gates of Hell!

    Like

  4. So much win in this list! These are all on my wishlist as well, especially the sci-fi. I cannot wait to get my hands on the next Expanse book, the series is soooooo good! And Wolf Moon, because Luna: New Moon was amazing. And when I first found out about the new Scalzi I thought it might be another Old Man’s War book, but then I found out it wasn’t, I got very intrigued!

    Like

    • My love for the Expanse grew exponentially once I was able to give define faces to the characters I love: somehow, seeing them “in the flesh” made them more real, and gave them even more depth. Now it would be perfect if McDonald’s story could be translated on the screen as well…

      Like

  5. I really want the Gates of Hell too, I wasn’t expecting to love Shards of Heaven that much but, oh lord, this book is great! It’s so underrated but so good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

