Reviews

SciFi Month 2016: Babylon 5 Quotes Season #2

sfm16_6

Science Fiction on the small screen offers a wide variety of interesting shows, but still it seems to lack the depth and complexity we can find in books – and it stands to reason, since the TV format must adhere to rules that don’t apply to the written word. Yet there is a show that transcends these rules because it was conceived as a five-part novel in the mind of its creator, and like a novel it doesn’t only deliver action and adventure, but also great characterization with visible growth, and a gripping narrative arc.

The show I’m talking about is Babylon 5: despite its “age” (it ran from 1994 to 1998) it still feels fresh and actual because it’s not about impressive CGI or technological marvels, but it deals instead with people, with their reactions to extraordinary circumstances, with the choices that those circumstances force on them and the consequences of their actions.  I’ve often thought that it could work just as well as a theatrical production, because its strength is in the story, the thought-provoking issues it deals with and the intense dialogues spoken by the characters.

Here are some of my favorite quotes – divided by season: I hope that they will rekindle fond memories in those who watched and loved this show, and inspire the curiosity of those who have missed this complex, thoughtful and very passionate story until now.

babylon_5_season_2

We are dreamers, shapers, singers, and makers. We study the mysteries of laser and circuit, crystal and scanner, holographic demons and invocation of equations. These are the tools we employ, and we know many things. […] The true secrets, the important things. Fourteen words to make someone fall in love with you forever. Seven words to make them go without pain. How to say good-bye to a friend who is dying. How to be poor. How to be rich. How to rediscover dreams when the world has stolen them.

(Elric – The Geometry of Shadows)

It has occurred to me recently that I have never chosen anything. I was born into a role that was prepared for me. I did everything I was asked to do because it never occurred to me to choose otherwise. And now, at the end of my life, I wonder what might have been.  […]  So much has been lost, so much forgotten. So much pain, so much blood. And for what, I wonder? The past tempts us, the present confuses us, and the future frightens us. And our lives slip away, moment by moment, lost in that vast terrible in-between. But there is still time to seize that one last, fragile moment. To choose something better, to make a difference, as you say.

(Emperor Turhan – The Coming of Shadows)

No one else would ever build a place like this. Humans share one unique quality, they build communities. If the Narns or the Centauri or any other race built a station like this, it would be used only by their own people. But everywhere Humans go, they create communities out of diverse and sometimes hostile populations. It is a great gift and a terrible responsibility. One that can not be abandoned.

(Delenn – And Now For a Word)

No dictator, no invader can hold an imprisoned population by force of arms forever. There is no greater power in the universe than the need for freedom. Against that power, governments and tyrants and armies cannot stand. The Centauri learned this lesson once. We will teach it to them again. Though it take a thousand years, we will be free.

(G’Kar – The Long, Twilight Struggle)

12 thoughts on “SciFi Month 2016: Babylon 5 Quotes Season #2

  1. Love the Babylon 5 quotes you’ve chosen! Also, random cool thought: you know until your comment on my Wolf’s Empire: Gladiator that Claudia Christian played one of the main characters on the show, I had no idea. I think I heard somewhere that she was an actress turned writer and had been on a big sci-fi show, but I definitely didn’t make the connection until you told me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice to see quotes from a favorite show! I like all these but especially the third one- for some reason (maybe in light of recent events) the bit about humanity building diverse communities appeals to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great collection of quotes! Season 2 was when I started watching the show (“And Now for a Word” was the first episode for me…I started late in the reruns) but it was interesting to see how everything started building up from there.

    I’m especially looking forward to the next set of quotes; Season 3 had a whole slew of great ones xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Season 3 is my favorite: there is so much packed into it that the episodes seem longer than usual. And what a funny coincidence! I started watching from season 2 as well because of some crazy programming choice, and backtracked to season 1 only later.

      Like

  4. I don’t think I ever made it through the entire series, but I do remember watching it after it’s initial run on TV, maybe in syndication. I do remember it was REALLY good and that I needed to do a binge watch someday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The beauty of re-watching B5 (especially after some time) is that it never, ever feels stale or predictable: you can always find some new angle, some new detail that you missed before. And the writing… ah, the writing…!!! 😀

      Like

    1. If it can be of further encouragement, all the friends I’ve recommended it to loved it without reservations. Season 1 is a bit slower and – apparently – less cohesive than the rest, but if you have the patience to stay with it, you will find that it was more than worth it. I’m looking forward to hearing what you think once you watch the show 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.