TO SLEEP, PERCHANCE TO READ…

Today I quite accidentally stumbled on this snippet of news, and I feel the need to share it with all my fellow bibliophiles: in the cities of Tokyo, and now Kyoto, there are two very peculiar hotels – or rather hostels – that offer accommodations between bookshelves. Yes, you read that correctly…

The first to start on this amazing road was the Book and Bed hotel in Tokyo, whose huge success brought on the creation of its twin in Kyoto: in both hotels the guests can sleep in bunks specially built inside the bookshelves.  Probably not a very comfortable space – not if you happen to be claustrophobic or, as would be my case, not exactly athletic or nimble, but the pictures of both places are downright intriguing…

Reading in bed is something we all book lovers enjoy, so this seems to be the next evolutionary step in the experience, maybe being lulled to sleep by the heady smell of books or the sweet sound of turning pages 🙂

Here are some pictures: what do you think?

tokyo  tokyo1

kyoto  kyoto1

Salva

Posted on December 3, 2016, in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Along similar lines, I always wished by bedroom door was one of those pocket shelf doors. The seclusion and the ability to display things that reflected me as a person was always attractive……Then again my parents didn’t allow us to put anything on the outside of our doors.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I could never sleep in one those hotels where you are basically in a tube. I toss and turn a lot, so I’d end up smacking myself a lot 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I must admit it’s a fun idea – sleeping surrounded by books. Although, in fairness it’s not probably the most comfortable sleep eh!
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Haha, an interesting piece of trivia about me: I ONLY read in bed, in that 1-2 hour window before I drift off to sleep. That’s the only time each day where I can actually get the time to myself to relax and physically read a book (all other times I “read” by listening to audio). So yep, reading in bed is definitely something I enjoy 🙂

    I would love something like in the above pictures for a private book nook – maybe not so much where I actually sleep, because that tiny space looks mighty uncomfortable!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Decidedly uncomfortable, yes, and yet there is something in there that beckons to our younger years, when as children we built forts out of chairs and blankets: a private, secret space where our fantasies took flight. But since I’m not a child anymore, now I need all the creature comforts I can get! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. How cute! It’s atmospheric for a night, although I might need to check into a hotel with a real bed the next morning, heh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

