Reviews

TOP FIVE WEDNESDAY #11

This GoodReads group proposes a weekly meme whose aim is to give a list of Top Five… anything, as long as they are book related.

 

118368

 

This week’s topic: BOOKS YOU WANT TO FINALLY READ IN 2017

These are those books you meant to read in 2016 or 2015 or 2014 and never got around to. Those books that have been sitting on your TBR for a while, and you really want to get to. These aren’t upcoming 2017 releases; these are older books that need your love too!

If my TBR pile had a life of its own, and physical form, it would be scowling at me all the time… So here we go:

 

read-owl-1376297_640

 

Daniel Abraham: The King’s Blood (The Dagger and the Coin #2)

Daniel Abraham has shown time and again to be very versatile, both as a co-author of the highly acclaimed SF series The Expanse, and as a Fantasy writer: his Long Price Quartet was one of the most enjoyable and innovative series I read, and the first book of The Dagger and the Coin, though apparently more “classic” in feel, was an engrossing read that left me wanting for more. The second volume already beckons from my reading queue…

 

Iain M. Banks: Matter (Culture #8) or Against a Dark Background

Though I discovered this amazing SF author a little late, I’m steadily working my way through his production, mostly centered around the universe of the Culture, a post-scarcity future society where humans (or rather, post-humans) and alien civilizations co-exist together with artificial intelligences and ship Minds, who are the latter’s next evolutionary step.  I’m still trying to decide on either the next Culture book, Matter, or a non-Culture book set however in the same universe, Against a Dark Background, that on the surface looks like an adventure story but, knowing this author, might very well be something else entirely.

 

Mary Stewart: The Crystal Cave

The Arthurian legend is a fascinating, and timeless, one: I’ve been meaning to read this first book of Mary Stewart’s Arthurian Saga for ages but always kept postponing it in favor of other titles. Now I’ve decided I am not waiting any longer: the siren song of this myth is calling to me loud and clear, and this time I don’t intend to ignore it. I believe that the unique blend of history, myth and fantasy that must be at the core of this story will make for a very gripping read.

 

Rachel Bach: Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox #1)

I have to confess I did start this book some time ago but it must not have been the right time – or maybe I was not in the right mood to appreciate it: the fact that I just put it in the virtual back shelf and not moved it off my reader means that I knew, even then, that there was something in it that had piqued my interest.  All I needed was to put myself in the right frame of mind, and I guess now might be that time: much of the enthusiastic reviews I’ve read from fellow bloggers whose tastes I trust have encouraged me to give it a second chance, and in the meantime – as it happens often when I procrastinate – the Paradox series has been completed.  Which means I will be able to enjoy it without waiting too long.

 

Juliet Marlier: Tower of Thorns (Blackthorn and Grim #2)

I totally loved the first book in this saga, Dreamer’s Pool, and promised myself I would not wait too long to get to the second volume, but as usual good intentions doubled up as paving stones on the proverbial road to Hell…  This is another of those fortunate cases, though, when my lagging behind means I now have two wonderful books to look forward to in the Blackthorn and Grim series and I can’t wait to re-acquaint myself with rough-edged but well-meaning Blackthorn and with the silent and meaning presence of her companion Grim, and to learn more about the bonds of affection and respect that tie them together and create the powerful core of their story.

18 thoughts on “TOP FIVE WEDNESDAY #11

  1. Yeah, in 2017 I want to do a better job with my backlist burndown. Being able to say I finally read Iain M. Banks would be amazing, and seeing his name on your list also reminded me of a couple sci-fi greats I have to read including Alastair Reynolds and Peter F. Hamilton!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Trouble is, there are so MANY great authors and wonderful books out there: how could we hope to keep up with our TBR piles and our wishes? 🙂
      Anyway, the three names you mentioned are, IMHO, some of the true masters of the genre: I hope you enjoy them all!

      Like

        1. No, it’s a self-contained story like every other one I’ve read from the Culture series: there are some common elements – the ship Minds, the Contact and Special Circumstances branches of the Culture, the sentient drones, and so on – but each story stands on its own two feet, no ties with previous books.

          Like

  2. *pterodactyl screech* TOWER OR THORNS! Ahem. Yes, that’s definitely a book you should pick up if you enjoyed the first book. I can’t believe I still haven’t read Den of Wolves.

    I’m hoping to do better with reading the books I actually own next year, but I say that every year…sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s the trouble: despite the huge pile of books we already own, we’re unable to resist snatching one more (or two, or three…) when we see something that attracts our attention…
      And Tower of Thorns is already sitting in my reading queue: it’s just a matter of time! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

