Reviews

TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesday is an intriguing meme started by Ambrosia over at The Purple Booker.

All you have to do is:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Teaser Tuesday

I’m happy and delighted to open this year’s run of Teaser Tuesdays with a book whose announcement made me quite happy: John Scalzi’s first book in a new space opera series, THE COLLAPSING EMPIRE.  The book will come out on March 2017, and to say I was looking forward to it would be a massive understatement, since a new Scalzi book is a cause for celebration (and instant acquisition) for me.

Thanks to Lynn I learned that NetGalley had the e-ARC for The Collapsing Empire on their request list, and I was beyond thrilled to have my request granted (thank you!). This is the premise, courtesy of GoodReads:

Our universe is ruled by physics and faster than light travel is not possible — until the discovery of The Flow, an extra-dimensional field we can access at certain points in space-time that transport us to other worlds, around other stars. […] The Flow is eternal, but it is not static. Just as a river changes course, The Flow changes as well, cutting off worlds from the rest of humanity.

Intriguing, isn’t it? And here is just a tiny bit to whet your appetite:

The mutineers would have gotten away with it, too, if it weren’t for the collapse of the Flow.
There is, of course, a legal, standard way within the guilds for a crew to mutiny, a protocol that has lasted for centuries. A senior crew member, preferably the Executive Officer/First Mate, but possibly the Chief Engineer, Chief Technician, Chief Physician or, in genuinely bizarre circumstances, the Owner’s Representative, would offer the ship’s Imperial Adjunct a formal Bill of Grievances Pursuant to a Mutiny, consistent with guild protocol. The Imperial Adjunct would confer with the ship’s Chief Chaplain, calling for witnesses and testimony if required, and the two would, in no later than a month, either offer up with a Finding for Mutiny, or issue a Denial of Mutiny.

If you’re interested you can read the entire prologue on Tor.com’s site, and enjoy John Scalzi’s engaging writing and distinctive brand of humor.

Salva

10 thoughts on “TEASER TUESDAY

  1. I’m so envious! I also saw that The Collapsing Empire went up on NG the other day but one look at the cover I knew it had to be the UK edition. US will have to wait a while, if Tor even puts up the eARC. I Look forward to your thoughts! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I went to NetGalley I saw that the ARC was targeted for EU audiences only, a welcome change from the the USA-only rule applied to the majority of NG’s books. Being granted the e-ARC was a huge surprise, and I’m enjoying the book immensely – even though I’ll admit a slight bias toward Mr. Scalzi… 😀

      Like

  2. I haven’t done Teaser Tuesday in ages but I like this one! The Flow sounds interesting (hyperspace type travel with a risk of being cut off?) and the mutiny info makes me wonder. This could be a good one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is, indeed! As I was saying to Mogsy, I might be slightly biased in favor of this author, but I’ve always enjoyed his style, his very balanced mix between drama and humor, and his ability to turn thought-provoking ideas into enjoyable stories.

      Like

  3. Legal mutiny, eh? This I have to read. I actually won a finished copy in a giveaway and I am PUMPED to get it in March! Thanks for the Tuesday Teaser. Now I’m even more excited 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m with Mogsy — jealous! We North Americans are gonna be waiting awhile, but this post has just ramped up my excitement even more. Lock In is the only Scalzi book I’ve read so far, but I loved it and I can’t wait for more of his stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

