Reviews

TEASER TUESDAY #8

Teaser Tuesday is an intriguing meme started by Miz B over at Books and a Beat.

All you have to do is:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Teaser Tuesday

After reading so many glowing reviews about Christopher Buehlman’s novels, I decided to try one of them and picked up THE LESSER DEAD, a story about vampires dwelling in New York’s subway tunnels.  These are vampires of the most classical and terrifying kind, feasting on preys they have previously charmed, i.e. hypnotized (sort of) and bent to their will.

I was lying back on the couch, holding Mrs. Baker’s arm in my lap, a sort of ugly orange-and-brow knitted couch cover under her arm because her wrist was bleeding and I didn’t want to get it on my faded bell-bottoms. I held the wrist up every once in a while to drink from it, wiping my lips with a paper towel.

The horror here does not lie on the act of feeding itself, but rather on the apparent normalcy of the scene: a family sitting in their living room, while the vampire sits among his subjugated captives, nibbling from them as if they were the kind of snack we all enjoy while watching TV.

Beyond chilling….

8 thoughts on “TEASER TUESDAY #8

  1. I’m dying to read this… must do so soon! As you know I LOVED his newest book, The Suicide Motor Club. Now you’ve reminded me I need to find my copy of The Lesser Dead!

    Like

    1. I bought this one because I was intrigued by the review about The Suicide Motor Club, and wanted to sample this author’s writing: he handles horror very well, because it’s more a horror of the mind more than a physical one.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.