Reviews

TEASER TUESDAY #16

Teaser Tuesday is an intriguing meme started by Ambrosia over at The Purple Booker.

All you have to do is:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Teaser Tuesday

This week I’m going to showcase one of the books I was most looking forward to, this year, the sixth volume in the amazing space opera The Expanse, by James S.A. Corey (a.k.a. Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck).

Babylon’s Ashes comes after an amazing fifth book in which so much happened, and so many of the characters I’ve come to care about where in serious danger, and the apparently subdued tone of this volume might seem anti-climatic, but I’ve come to trust these two authors to deliver, and I was not disappointed.

Here is a brief excerpt from the thoughts of Chrisjen Avarasala, one of my favorite characters: her musings offer the possibility of giving the reader a condensed recap of all that happened before, but in such a genially offhand way…

Her mind danced across the solar system. Medina Station. Rhea, declaring against the Free Navy. The food and supplies of Ganymede. The starvation and death on Earth. […] The colony ships being preyed upon by the Free Navy pirates, and the stations and asteroids gaining the benefit of piracy. And the missing ships. And the stolen protomolecule sample.

If you have not started this series yet, I urge you to do it, as soon as you can: you owe it to yourselves, seriously 🙂

6 thoughts on “TEASER TUESDAY #16

    1. Every time Avarasala comes on the scene, she steals it from everyone else, without even trying! 🙂
      I did like the different POVs: with the expanded (no pun intended… LOL) scope of the story, it felt only right that the narrative would be shared by different characters in so many places. This way, the Rocinante Four’s story felt enhanced and more contextualized. And of course I loved this new installment…. 🙂

      Like

  1. With an endorsement like that, how can I not pick this series up? I actually have a copy of Leviathan Wakes, but I’ve been avoiding it because it’s so hefty. But if Sci-Fi Month taught me anything, it’s that space opera is far and away my favourite sub-genre of sci-fi, so I no longer have any excuses!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I can’t wait to know what you think about it! I re-read it (something I very rarely do) last year, in preparation for the arrival of the SyFy show (amazing, by the way…) and I enjoyed it even better than my first reading.
      I hope you love it just as much as I (and a few million other readers… LOL) do 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.