Reviews

Review: THE AUTUMN REPUBLIC (Powder Mage #3), by Brian McClellan

 

My long and meandering way through this series has come to an end, and it was a very satisfying one, both story- and emotion-wise.  I used the words ‘long and meandering’ because I read the first volume Promise of Blood not long after it was published, and although I did like it, I did not feel strongly compelled to move forward with the series, since I had some slight issues with the book, mostly concerning the pacing and some characterizations.  Then some time ago I had the lucky opportunity of reading the ARC for the first volume of the sequel trilogy, Gods of Blood and Power, and I found there a more mature, more masterful control of story and characters, so that I decided to go back to… the origins so to speak, and discovered that hindsight helped me through the little ‘hiccups’ of the first book, so that once I reached the second, The Crimson Campaign, and this third installment, I could enjoy the tighter narrative and far more engaging storytelling. By now, Brian McClellan has become one of my favorite fantasy authors, one whose books I can always look forward to.

This final segment of the trilogy brings to a conclusion many of the threads that have been developing until now, bringing to a cusp the aftermath of Tamas’ revolution, the renewed conflict with the Kez and the resurgence of the ancient gods, and it does so with a sustained pace that never knows a moment of dullness. As enthralling as the events are, I would prefer to focus my review on the characters that move through them, because in The Autumn Republic they are explored in greater depth, and from new angles.  The only one I’m still unable, after three books, to really warm up to is Inspector Adamat: if I can sympathize with his past and present troubles and his ardent desire to keep his family safe, his segments are the ones that elicit the least interest in me as a reader, since I have been constantly incapable of forming any kind of attachment to this character.

It’s quite a different song for all the others, some of which we get to know better in this book, particularly Nila, the young laundress who recently discovered her Privileged powers: if at the beginning I wondered what part she was destined to play in the overall arc, here she fits wonderfully as the foil for Borbador, the only surviving member of the Adran cabal and Taniel’s long-time friend. Bo’s sometimes cavalier attitude toward his Privileged status and abilities might be tempered by what is basically a good nature and his affection for Taniel, but in the end he comes across as something of a spoiled child, and it falls on Nila, who he has taken on as an apprentice, to remind him of his duties as a human being and to cut him down to size when necessary.  I enjoyed quite a bit the interactions between the two of them and the way they end up supporting each other: what becomes clear at some point is Bo’s loneliness, and his yearning for the carefree days when he was part of Tamas’ family, so that I want to see this developing relationship between Bo and Nila as a way to re-create that sense of family he so clearly misses.

Vlora’s character enjoys some defining scenes in The Autumn Republic, and knowing the direction of her narrative arc in the following trilogy made me appreciate the hints of the more assertive personality she will develop later: here she is still trying to make amends for her past mistakes, and not for the first time I wondered at some of the comments I read about her not coming across as a very likable person, since I felt great sympathy for her since day one. Granted, she acted improperly and caused a great deal of grief, but almost no one (either readers or other characters) seemed to take into account her sense of loneliness and neglect that others manipulated for their own purposes, and that’s the reason I always felt more inclined to forgive her lapse.  Here she is able to mend her fences with both Tamas and Taniel, and at the same time starts on the road toward becoming her own woman instead of someone else’s protégée or betrothed, the beginning of a newfound independence that I can only approve of.    

Taniel, for his part, looks far more human than in previous instances: maybe being separated from Ka-poel (whose absence through most of the book is my only real complaint concerning this third volume) and his final admission about his feelings for her managed to shed a better light on him from my perspective. The whiny boy seems to be gone at last, and even though I still see some shadows in his character, he looks like a more grounded person, one who can recognize his failings and start to work on them. This becomes clear in his exchanges with Tamas, where for the first time in the series they actually speak to each other like father and son and not like two estranged acquaintances: their reciprocal admission of love, and the unspoken forgiveness for their past mistakes, is one of the more emotional passages in The Autumn Republic, one I realize I had been waiting for since book 1 and one that the author was able to convey with admirable deftness, down to a wonderful shared laugh that melts all the old misunderstandings and brings them together more than any words could.

Which finally brings me to Tamas, who has remained my favorite character throughout the story – faults included.  Here he sees his years-long planning nearing its conclusion, even though he’s aware that this does not mark the end of the struggle or that things did not turn out exactly as he envisioned them. There is a definite sense of needing to finally pass the reins to someone else, to give in to the weight of the years and the big and small injuries sustained during a long, hard career and the tight focus on his goal.  Tamas started taking stock of his past since the previous book, where he was assailed by some doubts about his ability to lead, so now that he sees himself at a crossroads and understands he left many things unsaid and undone, he feels compelled to correct any mistake he made along the way. Much as I enjoyed reading about his brilliant military strategy and his unwavering faith in the mission he set for himself, this softer side of Tamas complements wonderfully what was shown of the man until now, making him a more rounded and even more likable character – the true star of the narrative arc.

If I had read this trilogy when it came out, I would now be feeling quite bereft because I developed a deep fondness for this new fantasy genre and even more for the world Brian McClellan created, but as luck would have it, there is now more to be discovered in the next trio of books – and hopefully in many more that could follow.  The conclusion to the Powder Mage trilogy felt perfect in its promise for what is yet to come, but even more in the deeply touching feelings it engendered, even though they were tinged with sorrow: unfortunately this end is a bittersweet one, and if I understand the need for some of the author’s choices, I’m still in mourning for some of them – Brian McClellan has shown time and again he never pulls his punches, but when he sacrifices his characters he does so in a way that’s so balanced, in description and emotions, that I can forgive him for the pain we have to deal with…

The Powder Mage trilogy has now taken its place among my favorite stories, and it’s a world I will always enjoy visiting, in any form the author chooses.

 

My Rating:  

19 thoughts on “Review: THE AUTUMN REPUBLIC (Powder Mage #3), by Brian McClellan

  1. How nice that you were able to go back to a series that wasn’t your favorite, and it turns out to be a five star book! I’m definitely going to consider reading this at some point, when time allows:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can happily say that this story grew on me, and that once again I must remind myself to be patient and to give novels the time to worm their way into my soul 🙂
      Definitely, *make* the time for this series, it’s more than worth it!

      Like

  2. It was a really great ending to a wonderful trilogy. As to Vlora, though, I realize that her actions might be construed as a feminist – especially given the differences between how men and women are treated when it comes to sexual liberation. And truth be told, I felt quite uneasy about her and Taniel’s supposed marriage once I learned that for years they were basically siblings 😉 But to me, Vlora’s actions were simply overwhelmingly egoistic, short-sighted and plainly stupid – especially considering the precarious position of Tamas’s household in Adro…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is a strange dichotomy in McClellan’s world regarding women: they are a fact of life in armies, as soldiers and officers, and yet they are still expected to conform to some antiquated standards of behavior – as was the case of Verundish in one of the short stories. As for Vlora (and I realize I’ve somehow taken the role of her attorney – LOL LOL) let’s not forget her young age, an age in which we are all entitled to stupid mistakes… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. If my first approach to McClellan’s storytelling was… shaky at first, I must acknowledge that he’s grown a great deal, and gained a firm mastery on story and characters: he’s definitely worth trying to find him some space in our busy TBRs… 😉

      Like

    1. After some of the hints scattered all over the novel I was almost certain (read: *afraid*) that this particular bittersweet event would come to pass, and I even could see the reasons for it – but reason was somehow displaced by emotion in the end… (((sniffle)))
      Thankfully we still have the new series to look forward to, and – I hope – many more in the future 🙂

      Like

  3. Well this year has definitely been the year of McLellan for you since you read a lot of his novels and novellas set in the world! I’m happy you enjoyed this world so much, I tried to read the first book a few years ago and I didn’t really enjoy it so I will probably not give it another try (I’m still not a fan of flintlock fantasy) but I’m glad the trilogy delivered! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My own reaction to the first book was as lukewarm as yours, and it was through the first book of the new trilogy that I really started to appreciate this author and decided to go back and give The Powder Mage trilogy a second chance. And now I’m very happy I did 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great conclusion to a wonderful trilogy, and I liked the endings very much, even the hard, definite ones – like with Tamas, who is also my favourite character here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.