Reviews

REAL NEAT BLOG AWARD

While I love tag posts, particularly those that help me know my fellow bloggers better, my record in fulfilling them once I am tagged is far from stellar. I hoped to be able to fit this one into my Wyrd and Wonder 2020 schedule, but as usual I’m traveling on the path of good intentions – and we all know where that leads…

Anyway, with many thanks to Lashaan at Bookidote for calling me to task 😉 , here are the answers to the questions he posed:

 

1. IF YOU COULD DO SOMETHING BETTER THAN YOU’RE ALREADY DOING RIGHT NOW, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

That’s a tough one for a first question, when I still need to warm up… 😀

Jokes aside, I would like to be able to be more productive in my blogging activities, so that I could prepare some non-review posts in advance and participate in more book-related memes as many of my fellow bloggers do. For now, I will keep on enjoying theirs…

 

2. WHAT WOULD YOU LIKE THIS NEW DECADE (2020-2029) TO BRING TO YOUR LIFE?

Some traveling to new places – which right now sounds more like a fanciful wish than anything else: there are a few destinations that I’ve been thinking about along with my friends, like touring Australia (and New Zealand as well, why not? The Tolkien fan in me would like to see the place that became Middle Earth in our collective imagination). Hopefully one of these dream holidays might turn into reality.    

 

3. IS THERE A SEQUEL TO SOMETHING THAT YOU LOOK FORWARD TO?

**Looking meaningfully in the direction of Mister George R. R. Martin**

Enough said…

 

4. WHAT ARE SOME OF YOUR FAVOURITE STORIES IN ANY MEDIUM (COMICS, BOOKS, SHOWS, MOVIES, VIDEO GAMES, ETC.)?

This might call for a long list, so I will try to keep it down to a maximum of three in any category – except for comics, which I don’t read, and video games, that are well beyond any ability of mine. And of course I will stay within the confines of SFF, otherwise this would turn into a *massive* list…

SF Books: The Expanse, The Vorkosigan Saga, Dune

Fantasy Books: The Lord of the Rings (of course… 😉 ), The First Law trilogy, anything by John Gwynne

Tv Shows: Babylon 5 (which I love to quote at the drop of a hat), Farscape, Firefly

Movies (the ones I always rewatch when the opportunity arises): Alien(s), the LOTR Trilogy, Galaxy Quest.

 

5. WHAT ARE SOME OF YOUR LEAST FAVOURITES STORIES IN ANY MEDIUM (COMICS, BOOKS, SHOWS, MOVIES, VIDEO GAMES, ETC.)?

Well, let’s say that I don’t enjoy reading or watching stories where characters are cardboard cutouts, plots cliché and predictable and where the readers’ or watchers’ intelligence is insulted.

 

6. WHAT DOES BLOGGING BRING TO YOUR LIFE?

The opportunity of sharing thoughts and recommendations with like-minded people, to see unexplored angles in the stories I’ve read – either those I loved and those I didn’t, because a widely different point of view can be as illuminating as one which agrees with mine. Oh, and of course an ever-growing, totally unmanageable TBR – but who’s complaining?

 

7. IF THERE’S SOMETHING YOU COULD CHANGE OF THE WORLD, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

I would like to do away with the extreme polarization that seems to affect every field of social interaction nowadays, and to poison any kind of discussion, no matter the subject at hand.

 

8. WHAT DO YOU WISH YOU COULD EAT RIGHT NOW?

Mango-flavored ice cream.

 

9. IF THERE WAS ONE MYTHOLOGICAL CREATURE THAT COULD EVER EXIST IN THE WORLD, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

I’ve always been fascinated by the fabled inhabitant of Loch Ness…

 

10. DO YOU THINK THERE’S A CURE FOR STUPIDITY?

Sadly, while I enjoy speculative fiction, I know there are limits to what I’m able believe… 😉

 

 

Ok, that was fun! If you enjoyed this tag, please feel free to join in – the more the merrier!

28 thoughts on “REAL NEAT BLOG AWARD

  1. Mm… mango flavoured ice cream – or sorbet! I LOVE mango-flavoured sorbet… Great answers, Maddalena – thank you for sharing. And I understand about writing more non-review articles, it’s one of the things I keep meaning to get around to do and don’t manage…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know about GRRM, I don’t really think about it any more, if it comes, one day, cool (unless it sucks 😉 ), if not… there are other books. I like the guy, but it’s embarrassing.

    Thanks for a reminding me I need another re-watch of Babylon 5, soon 🙂 I’ll probably finish Stargate first, it’s not as good, but I’ve never seen it all, so going episode by episode is my most ambitious current TV project.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. More than once I wondered if the appearance of the show robbed GRRM of the drive to see the story through – which would be a pity, because the last two seasons did not completely deliver on their promise…

      Like

  3. Yay for Loch Ness monster! And NZ – do come, given an opportunity! 🤩
    I’m a fan of sherbet ice cream, and fruit ice cream – but not mango 😉 I do love grapefruit I’ve cream, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, the season for ice cream is almost upon us, so we’ll have plenty of opportunity to indulge – and I always say that fruit-based ice cream is not so “dangerous” as chocolate or other “heavier” flavors. It’s a good alibi… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. We made mango lassi the other day! Not to make that craving of yours perpetuate if it had not already been satisfied! 😀 It would indeed be quite the thrill to visit the very place that inspired Tolkien’s universe! 😮 And yes.. the polarization in conversation is absolutely insane and omnipresent today. It’s truly saddening. Great answers, Maddalena! Thank you so much for taking the time to do this one! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope you get that dream trip to New Zealand. I could eat some strawberry ice cream about now – in fact why be stingy – a banana split.
    Love your answer about curing stupidity.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s awesome to see Babylon 5 on the list. I started a rewatch last year but then life got in the way and I haven’t seen an episode in a while. Time to start up the next one, I think I’m up to episode 7, The War Prayer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Babylon 5 for me is THE series as far as television SF is concerned: it defined my concept of the serialized genre and remains my template in storytelling and characterization. I’ve been promising myself a complete rewatch for a while, as well, but so far I have only managed to re-acquaint myself with some well-loved episodes, particularly from Season 3 – IMHO the best. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.