Reviews

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Most Inspiring Fantasy Covers

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme where every Tuesday we look at a particular topic for discussion and use various (or more to the point, ten) bookish examples to demonstrate that particular topic.  Top Ten Tuesday (created and hosted by  The Broke and Bookish) is now being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl and future week’s topics can be found here.  This week’s topic was a Cover Freebie, so I choose to list the most inspiring Fantasy covers.

We keep telling ourselves that we should never judge a book from its cover, but we also acknowledge that more often than not it’s the cover that draws us to a given book, in the hope of discovering that beauty is not just skin-deep, or rather, cover-deep…

Here are some of the books whose covers, together with their promise for a wonderful story, enhanced my reading experience:

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms – N. K. Jemisin

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Scott Lynch

Half a War – Joe Abercrombie

The Last Stormlord – Glenda Larke

Dreamer’s Pool – Juliet Marillier

Promise of Blood – Brian McClellan

A Time of Dread – John Gwynne

Godsgrave – Jay Kristoff

Foundryside – Robert Jackson Bennett

The Spider’s War – Daniel Abraham

17 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: Most Inspiring Fantasy Covers

  1. I love all of these! I especially love the Marillier books. I keep meaning to get hard copies of those for the covers since I read them in audio. Maybe I will trawl ebay to see if I can find the hardcovers….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t believe anyone who isn’t intrigued by covers alone. They play such a huge role, if not just subconsciously, in us picking it up to be read next or not! And… this post reminds me of so many books that I still need to get around to! At least Red Seas Under Red Skies is definite 2020 read for me! I can’t wait to return to that world, even… if… Lynch has been slacking around for a couple of years too many!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve yet to read any of these but there are several on my list, many originally for the covers, especially The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms and the entire Gentleman Bastard and Nevernight series. Foundryside’s on there, too, but I picked that after having read and loved the Divine Cities series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.