Reviews

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Books I Read Because Someone Recommended Them to Me

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme where every Tuesday we look at a particular topic for discussion and use various (or more to the point, ten) bookish examples to demonstrate that particular topic.  Top Ten Tuesday (created and hosted by  The Broke and Bookish) is now being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl and future week’s topics can be found here.

It’s no secret that since I started book blogging most (if not all) of the recommendations I get come from my fellow bloggers, particularly those whose preferences are close to mine – although I have to admit that sometimes those very recommendations asked me to take a leap of faith and move away from my comfort zone, and when I did I was always rewarded with some amazing novel I would not have otherwise known.

So, besides listing a few of the books I read – and loved – thanks to other bloggers’ suggestions, I want to celebrate my fellow book lovers and their unending source of great advice 🙂

RED RISING, by Pierce Brown
DREAMER’S POOL, by Juliet Marillier
ILLUMINAE, by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
CERTAIN DARK THINGS, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
KILL CREEK, by Scott Thomas
THE HUNGER, by Alma Katsu
FIREFLY: BIG DAMN HERO, by James Lovegrove
THE WICKED KING, by Holly Black
RECURSION, by Blake Crouch
BROTHERHOOD OF THE WHEEL, by R.S. Belcher

And this is just a small sample of the books I encountered thanks to some very inspired reviews I read: what about you?

21 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: Books I Read Because Someone Recommended Them to Me

  1. I love this list, and I also have discovered some gems due to fellow bloggers’ recommendations! I am happy to say I’ve read ALL of these except Dreamer’s Pool:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My mom highly recommended ‘Recursion’ to me, I read ‘Dark Matter’ a while back but I barely remember it. I’ve read a few ‘Firefly’ graphic novels so far and they’re okay but they just don’t have the charm of the TV series. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read a few works based in Firefly – mainly some fanfiction I found through the Browncoats site – but the Lovegrove book is the first one whose “flavor” comes quite close to the series, and I hope to be able to read the other ones in the series as well. I miss the Serenity crew badly… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.