Reviews

FUGITIVE TELEMETRY (The Murderbot Diaries #6), by Martha Wells

I received this novel from Macmillan/Tor-Forge through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review: my thanks to both of them for this opportunity.

A new Murderbot novella is something I always look forward to, because I am completely invested in the journey of this cybernetically-enhanced construct and its interaction with the humans that have accepted it into their extended family.

Fugitive Telemetry is slightly different from its predecessors in that it’s not so much an adventure against evil intergalactic corporations as it’s a murder mystery in which our SecUnit takes on the role of detective, and does so relying mostly on its deductive capacities rather than the impressive technical skills it has shown so far. As far as temporal placing goes, this novella follows after book 4, Exit Strategy, and comes before the longer work Network Effect: Murderbot is very actively on the lookout for GrayCris operatives that might still be threatening Dr. Mensah’s life, so that when the body of a murdered man is found on Preservation Station, the first hypothesis for our SecUnit is that there might be a connection with the previous attempts on its legal guardian.

Since murder is quite an unusual event on Preservation Station, MurderBot offers its services in the investigation: on one side it wants to be sure that the dead man is in no way connected with GrayCris operatives, on the other it knows it might be a good opportunity to show other humans that it’s not a danger to Preservation and that, on the contrary, it can be an asset. Easier said that done, though, because suspicion and mistrust run rampant among the police force, such as it is, on the station, and Murderbot has been requested not to use the full potential of its cybernetic enhancements, which means that it will not be able to hack various data-gathering systems and it will have to rely on its rational powers alone and whatever information the humans are willing to share.

Watching MurderBot play detective is a fun experience on many levels: on one side, having to work without its usual tools, the SecUnit must fall back on the investigative techniques it learned by watching its beloved media, which is a tongue-in-cheek take on the genre; on the other, the barely veiled wariness of the humans it comes into contact with brings on new levels of snark in MB’s inner musings that are nothing short of delightful. Still, it’s clear that it has learned a lot about how to interact with humans, and even though it seems very keen on winning the undeclared challenge with the station’s police operatives, it also shows an unusual self-control in the face of what it considers some very stupid attitudes and questions. There are however a couple of instances in which that control slips, like the discussion on the reasons the body was dumped in such a public place: 

Murderbot: “No, I didn’t kill the dead human. If I had, I wouldn’t dump the body in the station mall”

Lead Investigator: “How would you dispose of a body so it wouldn’t be found?”

Murderbot: If I told you, then you might find all the bodies I’ve already disposed of.”

Which begs the question whether its was a provocative joke or not…

As the investigation progresses, the findings lead in a very unexpected direction and once again the SecUnit finds itself entangled with the rescue of some humans, and the deeper ramifications of the circumstances that brought these people into such a dangerous situation: without entering spoiler territory, I would like to point out that, no matter its antisocial declarations, there is a deep core of altruism in MurderBot that brings it to quite heroic actions, even when he ends up being shot at as a reward, as is the case here.

One of the delightful discoveries of this novella is the deepening connection that MB is forging with its adopted family (those it refers to as “Mensah or any of my other humans”), to the point that it’s learned how to rely on them when need arises, or even to ask  for outright help: their reaction at that request is one of my favorite moments, indeed, but it also shows how they have come to care for their latest member, and how MurderBot is coming to understand the rewards of interacting with flesh-and-blood people, of lowering one’s barriers and letting the world come closer.

On the other hand, the SecUnit’s scorn for the station’s bots remains unaltered: it’s clear it views them as inferior and even pathetic in their willingness to be useful and friendly, or in adopting charming names for themselves: one such example is that of JollyBaby, whose designation goes against its appearance and capacities – the surprise it will reserve for MurderBot toward the end is one that brought a huge smile on my face, and the hope that MB will be able to temper its snobbish attitude in the near future 😉

To sum it all up, Fugitive Telemetry is another captivating installment in the “MurderBot Saga”, one that adds some more facets to the main character while offering a quick, entertaining story and a wider view on the background it’s set on. The only thing that’s missing this time are the references to MB’s beloved media: the course of the investigation is such that there is literally no time to indulge one or more episodes of, say, Sanctuary Moon – and even MurderBot at some point wishes to simply “watch media and not exist”, which is a desire we can all sympathize with, particularly at the end of a hard day… A sign that the SecUnit is far more human than it can conceive of! 

Can we have another story soon, Ms. Wells, please?

My Rating:

26 thoughts on “FUGITIVE TELEMETRY (The Murderbot Diaries #6), by Martha Wells

  1. Yeah, I started reading this and my first impression is that this book will deal with the earlier GrayCris assassination attempt on Mensah, so nicely alluded to in HelpMe files in Network Effect. Glad to see you enjoyed it so much! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really, really loved reading the first one – and I’d give my eye teeth to get my hands on an arc. But they are so very expensive… So I really appreciate your excellent review, which allows me to go on touching base with this classy series. I need to get hold of them at the library!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I know THAT feeling:)). And HUGE respect that you’ve managed to get hold of arcs of the Murderbot series – I’m drooling with envy, here. And it’s not a good look…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I am finishing this one tonight, with about a dozen pages left to go. It has been a wild ride from start to finish, I agree with pretty much everything here and it might even be a full 5 star read for me barring any unexpected surprises!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can’t read this review. I just can’t. At least not yet, but I do hope to come back eventually. The reason I can’t read it? I’m halfway through Network Effect and I don’t want to know anything about any Murderbot story before reading it. I just love these tales, and can’t wait to get to Fugitive Telemetry. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Enjoy your journey! The only negative comment I have for this series is that the stories are far too short for my liking – but on the other hand, the author has learned the lesson about leaving your audience wanting for more… 🙂

      Like

  5. I am so glad you enjoyed this one!! And I agree with you about all, really. But especially about the fact that here we see him bond with his founded family and it is just super! And the snark was over the top! I loved it!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. maddalena, thank you for the delightful review. I sat and read Fugitive Telemetry in one sitting last night. I knew I wouldn’t be able to put it down. We have a regional library in a city of 100k that has all Martha Wells’ Murderbot books. I’ve read sci-fi since the 1960’s and thoroughly enjoy coming across another master of the creative world of sci-fi authors. One thing, however: I feel that MurderBot is a female, if any gender is to be assigned. Martha usually uses “they” for the individual who is a “he/she/it”. Her insight into our current culture is outstanding, and well and truly woven into her novels and novellas. I hope to travel to College Station, visit my great-nieces at A&M, and buy Martha a cup of coffee, just to listen to her expand on her story lines.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m intrigued by what you said about Murderbot being female because there have been many narrative segments in the various books where I had the same thought: nothing I can put my finger on, but the idea did cross my mind more than once, so if you ever have the chance of sitting down with Ms. Wells for that cup of coffee, I would be interested to learn what she has to say about it…. 😉

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.