Reviews

DUNE MESSIAH (Dune #2), by Frank Herbert

I have often lamented the fact that re-reading books I enjoyed in the past can sometimes lead to deep disappointments, due to changed tastes and to the evolution of writing styles, so I’m glad to acknowledge that my re-read of Dune Messiah did not incur in that kind of problem and, on the contrary, made me enjoy the novel even more than on my first encounter.  The younger me who read Messiah for the first time was disappointed by the lack of epic-ness that was so much a part of the first book, nor did she enjoy seeing Paul Atreides become somewhat diminished; now I was finally able to appreciate what Frank Herbert was doing with his character and the world he had created.

The story starts twelve years after the final events in Dune: Paul Atreides has extended his power over the empire, mainly through a galaxy-wide war of conquest waged by his Fremen armies and fueled by the religious fervor that invested him with near godhood; it’s the jihad he foresaw and tried to avoid, to no avail – we learn that it ‘killed sixty-one billion, sterilized ninety planets, completely demoralized five hundred others’, a series of staggering numbers that, instead of consolidating his rule, has created mistrust and discontent, so that now some of his enemies (and some of his former allies as well) are plotting to dethrone him, putting an end to his rule.  Prescience already warned Paul of what’s brewing in the shadows, and here we see him trying to navigate the possible futures, knowing that every one of them will entail devastating losses and even worse consequences.

What Dune Messiah amounts to, in the end, is the story of a man gifted with amazing powers and yet powerless to prevent the catastrophes he envisioned: despite the prodigious skills he acquired through both nature and motherly teachings, he remains a human being, with all the frailties and contradictions this entails, and seeing them, seeing his struggles and the pain they carry with them, helped me connect with his character on a level I had not reached in the first book.  Which brings me to a consideration that struck me, this time over, as I thought about Paul’s dilemma and the road he would/could not choose here, leaving it open (as I already know it will happen) for his son to take: in my review of Dune I mentioned how I consider it a landmark in SF just as Tolkien’s LOTR is for fantasy, to the point that I saw a sort of parallel between Paul and Frodo. Paul knows – has seen – a way out of those devastating futures, the terrible purpose that will turn into the Golden Path for young Leto, but is unable, or unwilling, or both, to accept it and ultimately gives up, choosing to wander alone in the desert, maybe to die; Frodo reaches the end of his perilous journey only to fail – and he was destined to fail since he was only the Ring Bearer, not the Ring Destroyer, thanks to Tolkien’s always precisely chosen wording – carrying forever the burden of that failure and equally choosing exile, no matter how pleasant, to remove himself from it.   I’m aware the comparison might be quite a stretch, but it’s one I can’t seem to get out of my mind, and I would love to hear what my fellow bloggers think about it….

Back to the novel itself, I found that despite the reduced page count, if compared with its predecessor, it expands the reader’s knowledge about the universe where the story takes place: the main narrative focus is still set on Arrakis, granted, but the presence, amid the conspirators aiming to remove Paul from power, of a Guild navigator and of a Tleilaxu Face Dancer shows us a glimpse of the various powers inhabiting the galaxy. The navigator is described as something only vaguely resembling the human being it must originally have been, the exposure to the spice gas that renders it capable of forging paths through space having transformed the creature in a weirdly horrific way, but the truly fascinating character is that of Scytale, the Face Dancer.  A bio-engineered shape shifter, Scytale is the product of Tleilaxu gene manipulation, and an intriguing creature as well, particularly in the peculiar affinity for the people it must impersonate – and therefore kill – that translates into a sort of sympathy (the Face Dancer’s own words) for the victim, almost a regret for the necessity of the act. It’s a choice that turns Scytale into much more than a simple enemy, a simple killer, and gifts its personality with depth and intriguing shades.

The Tleilaxu are also involved in another part of the plan against Paul Atreides because they bring one of their creations to his court in an attempt to distract and destabilize him: their skills in bio-manipulation can literally bring the dead back to life – through a process that might be cloning, even though it’s never explained – in the form of gholas, perfect copies of the dead although deprived of their memories. The ghola which is brought to Paul’s court is no one but his former instructor and friend Duncan Idaho, who gave his life to allow Paul and his mother to escape from the Harkonnens.  Duncan is a character who does not enjoy great narrative space in Dune, and yet he leaves a deep impression, to the point that his reappearance hits the readers just as much as the intended target in the story.  There is a poignant quality to Duncan’s journey, the drama of a person who knows there is a past waiting for him to be unlocked, and also that such unlocking will require a high price to be obtained, and it’s almost as touching as that of Paul, of his dilemma and of the bittersweet meeting with his old-time friend.

As a sequel, Dune Messiah works far better on a re-read, particularly when one is aware of what will come after: it is indeed a bridge between the two distinct halves of the Atreides’ family history, but most importantly it sets aside the more “adventurous” themes of its predecessor for an in-depth examination of the nature of power and how it can betray its wielders, no matter how many skills they can call into play.  The author’s choice of mixing what might have been a somewhat dry commentary with some powerful emotions is what turns this novel into a touching journey and one that is enhanced – not lessened – by hindsight.

My Rating:

23 thoughts on “DUNE MESSIAH (Dune #2), by Frank Herbert

  1. Fantastic review! bravo!!!!

    I always viewed Idaho as an ancillary piece of the story even when Frank made him a centerpiece in later books, but it wasn’t until Baby Herbert and Anderson really ran with making him THE main character that I began to view him differently. Not sure that’s necessarily a good thing, but it really puts a different view on the whole story from the beginning.

    As for Frodo and Paul. I would disagree mainly because Frodo succeeded at his task. Which you point out. It was somebody else’s job to cause it’s destruction. And I get where you are coming from in regards to applying the same to Paul and then Leto II, but something is different about the dynamics. I guess part of it is that Frodo fully intended to destroy the ring right up until the moment that he couldn’t. Whereas Paul had rejected the Golden Path almost from the moment he saw it because he couldn’t bear the cost. Paul rejected everything in the end and I guess that’s where I see the difference.

    Does this mean you’re going to read the next book, or several?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for the compliment!
      As far as the re-reading goes I would like to cover all the books in the saga, but so far have managed only the first two – we’ll see how it goes…
      Concerning the parallel (or lack thereof) between Frodo and Paul I acknowledge the differences between the two characters you mentioned, while still seeing a similarity in the struggle they both face concerning their destiny: one of them embraces it while the other rejects it, but both of them feel the weight of failure, Paul because he lacks the courage to take the Golden Path, Frodo because he could not bring his task to complete fruition. I’m aware it was a stretch, but as I was writing the review I could not bring myself to ignore the comparison… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think both characters share a burden and a certain kind of tragedy, but Paul basically cops out at the expense of his son, and he doesn´t really fail either, because by coping out, he sets the stage for Leto to succeed, knowing it will kill uncountless numbers, but in the end saving humanity too. Basically he (Paul) has no choice in the matter, so. What both Frodo & Paul share is that they both symbolize the absense of free will. I´ve written at lenght about this in my review of lotr and of Dune & Dune Messiah.

        While I liked Messiah a lot on an emotional level because of Paul´s predicament, I still think Messiah is were Herbert starts dumbing stuff down, and conceptually gets of the rails too: I have written at length about that too, especially, as Paul is concerned in my review of Children of Dune, where the meeting between Paul & Leto simply doesn´t make sense.

        Is the Golden Path already mentioned in Messiah? I didn´t think so, but I could be wrong.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m not sure if the mention of the Golden Path happens here or if it’s my (very imperfect) recollection of Children of Dune and yes, there is more space given to emotional reactions here, which I enjoyed because it made Paul more human, somehow. The deconstruction of his character from the previous book is more or less equally divided between the negative aspect of passing the proverbial hot potato to his son and the poignant one of the individual who is trapped by his own prescience and unable to escape a dreary future. Alia’s madness in the next book will tragically complement the destiny of both children of Duke Leto…

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that’s the best part about rereads, you get to think on it a bit more the second time around! I am so ashamed to admit I haven’t even read the first book. The first time I attempted it I was so young and wasn’t into SFF yet and I found the world building so dense and confusing, I gave up. Something tells me it’ll be much different if I read it today!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed! Being older (and wiser…) we can appreciate stories that we could not enjoy when we were very young. The world building is certainly one of the most fascinating aspects of the series, particularly in the first book: I look forward to your thoughts once you decide to start the… journey 😉

      Like

  3. I’m so glad you loved it even more upon re-read, Maddalena!
    I read it ages ago (really – I was 12, maybe? Maybe 11?) and was very impressed by Paul’s tragedy back then. I felt like the choice he made was the only one left to him, a final shout of defiance into the abyss, as all the others have been stripped away from him, or he stripped them away from himself by choosing. That said, this was my early teenage take on Dune’s Messiah, and I wonder how it’s going to hold up for me upon re-read I’m planning for next year :).
    Your comparison with Frodo got me thinking, though. I guess the tragedy of Frodo lies for me in the fact that he agrees to be used not really knowing what that would entail. All the wise persons in Middle Earth refuse the ring because they know the cost. And he is burdened with it through no fault of his own, and pays for the transgressions of others. There is certain inevitability in Frodo’s fate – having spent so much time with the ring he is set to be corrupted by it, hobbit resiliency or not; but because of the choices he makes along the way, he is, in the end, aided by others, friends and enemies alike, in fulfilling the responsibility that was put on him.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes! You pointed out the dramatic difference between Frodo and Paul: despite the heavy burden set on both their shoulders, Frodo can count on friends (especially Sam) and can derive a measure of comfort from them, while Paul is essentially alone – even though he does have a few friends he can count on, and the loving support of Chani, he is and *feels* alone and that’s the core of the tragedy. Just as Alia is equally alone despite the multitude crowding her awareness….

    Like

  5. I’ve only ever read the first book which I really enjoyed at the time. I often think I should go back for a reread, I’m a different person now, I’ve changed and it would be interesting to see what I make of it at this point in my life.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.