Reviews

MY 2022 IN BOOKS

Once again it’s time to take stock of my reading year now that 2022 is drawing to an end: while 58 books might look like a meagre accomplishment when compared to the dizzying heights reached by some fellow bloggers, I’m quite satisfied my result, which means I managed to read a little more than one book per week. And here are my books for 2022 in all their magnificence 😀

As usual, I chose to play a little with charts to see how my reading fared in terms of statistics, and it was no surprise that Fantasy and Science Fiction earned the proverbial lion’s share in my choice of books, with crime/thriller coming second and horror gaining a more than respectable third place. 

I was quite fortunate with my picks, since 46 of those 58 books earned high ratings from 4 to 5 Reading Owls (including the half points), 9 were mid-range with 3 Reading Owls, and only 3 went lower than that, including the two DNFs of this year. All things considered, the not-my-cup-of-tea books were too few to matter, which means that my “book vibes” once again helped me greatly in choosing what to read.

This year I also want to showcase some of the books that stood above the others either because the author was new to me or because they were a notch above the expected quality from authors I had previously read.

In the first category I picked these four:

J.M. Straczynski’s novel represents something of an exception to the above rule because I was familiar with his works as the creator of the TV series Babylon 5, which I mention often as my favorite show, but his foray into mainstream narrative opened a whole new territory for me, even though I was hardly surprised at the quality of the writing, given my previous experience with the deep and often poignant dialogues which made that show my touchstone for small-screen SF.

While I approach well-known and tried authors with a certain degree of assurance that their books will be a rewarding experience, there are times when they even exceed those expectations, and here are a few examples:

These four are among the books that were so engrossing that setting them down to attend to real life required some effort, which for me means high praise indeed…

Plans for the new year? Not really: being a mood reader I usually go where fancy takes me, although I would like to make at least a little inroad in the books I have accumulated in the past and then proceeded to ignore in favor of some new titles – that’s the bane of the compulsive reader, indeed, this total lack of moral strength in the face of new books’ siren song 😉

No matter what, though, I know that the next year will open new reading adventures, and that’s what really counts after all. 

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

35 thoughts on “MY 2022 IN BOOKS

  1. You had a good year as a reader 🙂 Here’s to 2023 being no worse!
    Straczynski… I wonder if there’s still a chance for Babylon 5 re-boot, it seemed to be in danger last I heard… the first one is near-perfect, but it’s our only chance to get more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice to see someone else that reads a similar amount to me (managed 56 this year).

    Seeing this post made me remember I didn’t do one of my own … ah well, maybe next year😅

    I hope 2023 brings you as high, if not higher, a percentage of 4 and 5 star reads😁

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love looking at charts from my fellow bloggers on their reading stats at the end of the year! Looks like you read a healthy amount of both sci-fi and fantasy this year. My sci-fi numbers were down, so I hope to step them up next year!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy New Year!! 58 books is a completely reasonable number. I have no idea how anyone reads 100+ books a year and manages to remember any of them. Stats-wise I think I may have one up on you though, don’t quote me on this, but I believe I may’ve read a non-fiction book this year… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy New Year maddalena! And this is not a race so 58 books is a great number! I am also so happy that Empire of the Vampire exceeded your expectation!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a successful reading year! As for reading numbers – I think it matters far more that people enjoy their books and the reading experience generally, rather than simply burn through books to fulfil a goal. And you have certainly done that! And I’m impressed at just the proportion of sci fi/fantasy books you have got through. I hope 2023 is similarly successful for you:)). Happy New Year, Maddalena.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.