Reviews

PARADISE-1, by David Wellington

I received this novel from Orbit Books through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review: my thanks to both of them for this opportunity.

Despite a very intriguing premise, Paradise-1 proved to be a disappointing, and at times frustrating, read. This novel had so much potential, at least judging by the synopsis, but unfortunately the execution fell quite short of my expectations and I managed to finish the book only thanks to sheer willpower and a small measure of curiosity to see where the story would go. It was an uphill struggle all the way, and more than once I was tempted to DNF the novel, but I feel guilty doing so with review books, so I managed to keep reading till the (bitter?) end…

Firewatch Lieutenant Petrova, Dr. Lei Zhang and pilot Parker are rudely awakened from cryo-sleep as their ship, Artemis, is attacked by an unknown foe as they are nearing their destination, the colony named Paradise-1.  Once reached the safety of the only intact section of the vessel, the three discover that their onboard AI is malfunctioning, that there are a lot of unresponsive ships in orbit around Paradise-1, and that one of them is firing against Artemis using a mass driver.   This is only the first of the dangers the trio will have to face, because ships’ AIs and humans alike have fallen victims to something dangerously invasive whose nature they will have to discover if they hope to fight it – and to stay alive.

The beginning of Paradise-1 offers an intriguing, adrenaline-infused introduction to the story, and depicts very well the sense of disorientation suffered by characters who are so rudely awakened from suspended animation into a potentially fatal situation, but as soon as the three manage to reach the relative safety of the ship’s bridge and try to assess the situation, the “narrative troubles” start – or at least that’s the way it was for me.  The fast pace with which the novel had started becomes mired in weirdly absurd dialogue and an overall tone that seems unsure about where to settle, whether on drama or light humor, while the addition of some hints at romance looks as if inserted to check a required box, rather than being an organically developed situation.

I guess that the proverbial “bubble” burst for me with the discovery of a recorded message illustrating the goal of the mission: the crew of Artemis was sent to Paradise-1 to investigate the disappearance of a great number of ships, but the powers that be chose not to warn the three of them about what they could expect and, worse, the ship was sent at the same coordinates of the previous disappearances. This compelled me to take a step back and wonder: what could be accomplished by sending another crew in, blind and ignorant, instead of making a more cautions approach, arming the crew with the relevant information?   It seemed such an absurd waste of people and material as far the story’s internal logic was concerned, and such an absurdity if translated into “real” decision making , that it pulled me out of the narrative rhythm. After that, I stated to notice details that made no sense, when they were not simply ludicrous: as an example I will mention the medical laser, one powered by a cord inserted into an actual outlet, that’s used outside Artemis as a defensive weapon against an approaching ship – that must have required one hell of an extension cord!  Granted, these are not end-of-the-world details, but they were enough to break my suspension of disbelief and to wake the Grumpy Nitpicker that’s always lurking in the background, ready to pounce…

At this point the story veers into all-out horror: to keep spoilers to the minimum I will only say that something manages to drive crews and ships’ AIs to utter madness, which manifests in disturbingly bloody ways. Sadly, the horror factor is more than overdone, resulting not so much into shocking scenes, but rather into grotesque episodes that made me think of those horror B-movies where you laugh at the scary parts as you reach for more popcorn.  One example?  A twisted AI wants to consume its victims and to be able to do so constructs a sort of metal mouth (equipped with vicious teeth) connected to a digestive system….    Worse still, the crew of Artemis find themselves in this kind of hairy situation not once, but three times, just in case we had not been scared enough the first one. I regret to say I wasn’t.

At the end of the 700+ pages of the book, an end I reached with difficulty because I had lost all interest in the characters’ journey or their fate, I hoped to find at least an explanation for the whole, confused mess, but I was not so lucky. For the third (and blessedly final) time our heroes are subjected to horrific experiences – now the terror is only psychological rather than physical, but that does not render the repetition more palatable – and finally reach planetfall. Where I hoped some answers would be provided – spoiler: they are not, because the novel ends quite abruptly in the worst kind of cliffhanger.

I’m aware that this ended up being more of a rant than a review, but I feel somewhat entitled to it after slogging through the absurd mess that Paradise-1 was for me.  I know a few of my fellow bloggers have this book on their TBR and I can’t wait to compare notes…

My Rating:

26 thoughts on “PARADISE-1, by David Wellington

  1. Cliffhanger?
    Yeah, that tears it for me. No book with that big a page count has any right to end on a cliffhanger. None. Zero. Nada. Zilch.

    I was semi-interested just after seeing the synopsis pop up on people’s feeds, but now, not a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are cliffhangers and cliffhangers: some close a narrative cycle and just lay the ground for what’s to come, and they are all right with me, but the abrupt kind – like the one here – looks like a devious way of keeping the reader hooked. In this case, however, I was not interested in moving forward…

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow, I am very nervous now😬 I’m laughing at some of the absurdities you pointed out and cringing at the thought of weird dialog. Maybe I’ll go into this with a more open mind now! I appreciate your candid thoughts!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I cannot WAIT for you to read my review. Can’t believe I forgot to mention the cringe-worthy “romance”… You pretty much nailed this book! Though, I was kinda hoping you’d like it better than I did.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your example of the horror element in this story does sound quite… wack… I’m not convinced at all in trying this out (which is sort of inevitable huh hahah) but thank you for your uphill battle with this read and reporting to us its less-than-stellar qualities… I hope the next one will be better!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh dear – what a miserable reading experience and thank you for an excellent review that reminded me all over again why sci fi horror tends to be a sub-genre I avoid. It’s a shame as I read and enjoyed Wellington’s The Last Astronaut. But I’m full of admiration that you stuck with this one right the way through – I’d have DNF’d it waaay before the ending!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve had The Last Astronaut on my TBR for a while now, and after this experience I’m wary about starting it because I fear another disappointment. Sci-Fi Horror, when handled well (like the Alien saga) can be both engrossing and thrilling, but I’m afraid this one was not….

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have to say that I quite enjoyed The Last Astronaut, which kept the tension wound and I was at no time yanked out of the story. It sounds as if this one would have made a good novella, but there wasn’t actually sufficient plot for the length of the book:(.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Well, I won’t be reading this one. Not that I was planning too after a similar experience with one of Wellington’s previous novel The Last Astronaut! I read it a few years ago and it was disappointingly average and a wannabe Alien novel. After reading your review, I’m comforted in my opinion that this author isn’t for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I added The Last Astronaut to my TBR some time ago, but after reading Paradise-1 and seeing some very disappointed comments about the previous book, I’m not sure I want to give it a try. Your comment about a “wannabe Alien” is far from comforting….

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Ugh. Sounds like a horrible experience, Maddalena! I’ll be steering clear of this book, that’s for sure. Thanks for writing and I hope you felt better after your rant 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.