Reviews

MUSIC MONDAY – SciFi Month Edition @SciFiMonth

MUSIC MONDAY  is a weekly meme created by The Tattooed Book Geek and one which inspired me to celebrate science fiction through music.  I can’t think of a better composer in this genre (among others, of course) than delightfully talented Hans Zimmer, whose works complete and enhance many genre movies, so I have chosen tracks from some of my favorite SF movies that were made even better by their amazing soundtracks.

This week my choice fell on INTERSTELLAR:

Funnily enough, the first time I saw this movie it left me somewhat baffled: at times I felt as if the story was weighed down by lengthy exposition and what I perceived as uneven pacing, so that I was able to truly appreciate it only on my second viewing, when I also finally realized that my favorite composer had penned the soundtrack.

I remember reading somewhere that Zimmer did not create the soundtrack with the visual aid of the movie but only through a sketch of the story he was given by the director, which makes the poignancy of the music even more extraordinary: the main theme conveys both the melancholy and sadness of the sacrifices made by the characters in leaving Earth, but also the sense of the wonders we might one day encounter when we’ll finally get to the stars.  

Masterful indeed…

11 thoughts on “MUSIC MONDAY – SciFi Month Edition @SciFiMonth

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.