Reviews

MY BOOKISH STATS FOR 2023

The end of the year is here and it’s once again time to get an overall view of my reading stats: the detail that immediately comes to my attention is that I’ve read and reviewed a few books less than usual, just 46 – while the main reason for this slight decrease stands in the five weeks I spent away from home in the summer, when I paid more attention to the friends I was vacationing with rather than to my reading material, I’m happy to notice that none of the books that made it to my reviews was a DNF. Of course there were a few titles that fell into that category, but all of them were abandoned before the 20% mark, which means that none of the books I actually reviewed proved to be a disappointment. I will take that as a win ;-) and here is the display of the volumes that kept me company during 2023:

If, like me, you’re curious to learn what genres made it into my reading, here is a “visual aid” that sees Science Fiction getting the lion’s share, closely followed by Fantasy: these two genres remain the main staple of my choices, while Crime/Thriller and Horror lag a little behind on equal footing; Historical Fiction and Mystery get an honorable mention…

The ratings for the books I read somehow mirror my luck in picking up books, since the majority of my choices fell into the range between 4 and 5 stars (or rather owls, my preferred avatar). As usual I have to thank my “book vibes” that generally manage to point me toward those stories that are bound to meet my tastes – always trust the vibes, Luke! :-D

And now we come to my favorite part of the year’s stats, which means listing the books I most enjoyed in the two main categories: it was not easy to pick only four examples, since there were so many more! – so here we go with some of the best in Fantasy

and then move to some of the best in Science Fiction

I try to avoid any kind of good intentions for the coming year, because I’m keenly aware of how much real life tends to interfere in those programs, so I will simply hope I will be able to pick more winners than flops. That should do quite nicely as a program for the New Year…

33 thoughts on “MY BOOKISH STATS FOR 2023

  1. Happy new year! I am also more a sci/fi/fantasy fan so never see that as a bad thing. While you have different series, i have one major setting. But its always interesting to see these book covers.

    May 2024 be equally kind too you in bringing more 5 star reads

    Liked by 1 person

  2. First of all, Happy New Year!! 🎆

    I admire your reading and reviewing prowess. I find it very difficult to describe my reactions to a book, other than “book good” or “book bad”!

    I haven’t tracked how many books I read this year. Being in a book club helps a little with accountability, but I’ve been known to not do the homework. Good thing these people like me. 🤓

    As for 2024, I guess my hope is that my countrymen don’t give the nation over to orange Mussolini (you know what I mean). That’s honestly a big distraction. If I can get past that, perhaps there’ll be some writing along with reading in my future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And a Happy New Year to you as well!!
      Reviewing, apart from the joys of participating to this wonderful community, is a way for me to hone my skills in English and at the same time to keep in shape what few neurons remains active… 😉
      And books can also be a wonderful distraction from the madness of the outside world, both the current and the feared kind….

      Like

      1. I have always marveled at your English reading and writing. I wouldn’t have known you weren’t a native speaker had you not told me long ago

        You’re right about reading taking us outside ourselves. And certainly my neurons could use a workout. 😁

        Here’s too many books in 2024.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve come to this very belatedly after a truly terrible Christmas. But I love your round-up and glad that you mostly enjoyed your picks – for the same reason, I don’t often find myself DNFing books:)). I hope you have an enjoyable and satisfying 2024 bookwise!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re very productive on this blog maddalena, which is why I was surprised when I saw your final book numbers! It just seems you’ve read and reviewed so much more. As always though, it is a pleasure to read your thoughts and I’ve also discovered a lot from your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!!!!
      I just wish I could really be more productive (to borrow your term) but time seems to always be too limited for all the books I want to read and review. But at least I know I can share my passion for reading with such a wonderful community… 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.