Reviews

AN EDUCATION IN MALICE, by S.T. Gibson

I received this novel from Orbit Books through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. My thanks to both of them for this opportunity.

After the mild disappointment suffered from S.T. Gibson’s other new novel, Evocation, I had high hopes that An Education in Malice would fare as well for me as the author’s debut novel, A Dowry of Blood, and that the return to the theme of vampirism would re-create the lyrical writing that thad captivated me completely in that first book. But sadly that was not the case: I will have to add my disappointed review to the ones some of my fellow bloggers posted in the past few days….

The story, in a nutshell: Laura Sheridan arrives at the prestigious Saint Perpetua college to further her poetry studies under the tutelage of renowned professor De Lafontaine and she finds herself almost immediately put in competition with student Carmilla, who is clearly the teacher’s favorite. De Lafontaine, however, hides a dark secret and soon enough Laura will find herself enmeshed in a competitive triangle mixing academic learning and dark passions with unexpected consequences.

There is nothing that saddens me more than failed expectations, particularly where a review book I expressly requested is concerned, and after the amazing discovery that was A Dowry of Blood those expectations were quite high, but this book – like the other 2024 offering of the author, Evocation – did not stand the comparison with S.T. Gibson’s debut, a fact that made me wonder if the pressure of producing not one but two novels in the same year did not weigh too heavily on the author’s narrative powers. The novel is hailed as “sumptuous and addictive” but I would hesitate to use those terms because the prose, although still very close to the style used in Dowry, is certainly moodily descriptive but often fails in the dialogues that at times feel contrived, and rarely manage to convey any emotional layering from the characters.

As for the characters themselves, the relationship between Laura and Carmilla feels hurried, moving from hostile rivalry to insta-lust in too short a time to be truly believable: the novel unfolds by switching between the two girls’ POV, but their “voices” are too similar to offer any real difference between them, to the point that I often had to backtrack to the chapter’s beginning to confirm which one of them was relaying the events.  The third point of the improbable “triangle”, that of professor De Lafontaine, constantly wavers between that of the oppressive adult who wields her power to abusive levels and that of the almost-mothering figure who still does not balk at taking advantage of her young charges.  The revelation about the professor’s true nature as a vampire, and the impact it has on Carmilla directly and indirectly on Laura, is one that required a huge suspension of disbelief from me, because Laura’s almost passive acceptance of a situation that should have seen her run screaming for the hills is quite absurd.

My list of grievances could still run for a little while, but I see no reason to keep berating a story that seems to have captivated many other readers: clearly I’m not the intended audience for this book and I probably set the bar too high by expecting another compelling story as Dowry of Blood.  Maybe someday in the future that will happen again….

20 thoughts on “AN EDUCATION IN MALICE, by S.T. Gibson

  1. Don’t sell yourself too short. All those other readers are probably idiots. I see this a lot nowadays 😉
    Kids these days get captivated by shiny trash and they don’t have the training or knowledge to know that something isn’t good.
    So keep up the alarm. Somebody has too after all….
    (because I’d rather cut out my tongue using a plastic spoon than read this, hahahaha)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so sorry that this didn’t work out for you, at all!! I enjoyed the writing, and for me it was quite addictive but it is also true that I didn’t have any expectations when I started it, because this is my first book by the author. And even if, on the whole, I agree with you that the characters have not voices that make you understand who is the one talking right away, I also have to admit that it didn’t really buggered me so much, because usually I managed to differentiate them all the same, so in the end the book worked for me. It won’t be one of my favorite of the year, sure, but I am still happy to have read it. Anyway, I am sorry that you were disappointed by it, and I hope that your next read will be way more satisfying!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If that had been my first encounter with Gibson’s writing I guess that my reaction would have been different, but after Dowry of Blood (which was truly “sumptuous and addictive”) her other works sadly pale in comparison. Since you enjoyed this one, I can’t wait to learn what you think of “Dowry”! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Likewise, I had to curtail my review before it turned into an essay. I mean, I realise that I went into this with high expectations, and I like her writing style, but instalove, weird love triangle, cringe inducing scenes, lack of any sort of horror regarding the murders, plus, why bother throwing vampires in – it felt redundant. Ohh, I’ve gone on another rant now. I tempered my review but yes, this didn’t really work for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I too wanted to comment on the cringe-worthy scenes and – worse IMHO – the lack of overall reaction to the brutal murders, but I knew I would rapidly move from review to rant and managed to stop before it was too late… We can be proud of our powers of restraint! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh dear – I have a copy of this one in my TBR, for a variety of reasons I am HORRIBLY behind in my reading this year… But this is also the first time I will have read anything by Gibson, so I won’t be experiencing the letdown you’ve suffered.

    I would just add, with my author hat on, that just because a book is selected to be first published as a debut, it doesn’t mean that it’s the author’s first effort. Getting traditionally published takes a long time – and it could well be that the book which blew you away was written after this one… It sounds like a lot of the issues you’re dealing with in this offering are rookie mistakes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I never thought that “Dowry” might not be Gibson’s first work, and your theory does indeed have merits! I will look forward to your thoughts once you manage to read this one: not having read “Dowry” first your experience might certainly be different from mine…

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It seems like I’m the only one who actually enjoyed An Education in Malice! I definitely see where you’re coming from in regard to your complaints. I suppose because I went in with lower expectations I may have liked it more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.