Reviews

THE CONFESSIONS TAG

As my first tag of the new year, I’ve chosen this one from the handful of topics I’ve collected over time from my fellow bloggers. And I’ll start with a momentous confession: yes, I’m addicted to books, I hoard them and gloat over them like Gollum over the Ring. So what? 😀

Ok, now to the real questions of the tag…

Which book, most recently, did you not finish?

I had high expectations for this SF story, but in the end it did not work for me as much as it did for the majority of my fellow bloggers who read it, so we had to part our ways a little past the halfway mark.

Which book is your guilty pleasure?

Guilty? Why should there be any kind of guilt attached to reading? Tsk! 😀

Which book do you love to hate?

It’s possible that the DIVERGENT fans here will in turn hate me for this, but this is one of the novels that started my uneasy relationship with YA and ended up giving the genre a bad name from my point of view. The world depicted here made little sense to me and I felt a strong antipathy for the main character, while the story felt too imbued with clichés to be enjoyable.

Which book would you throw into the sea?

No book deserves this fate, and the fact that I don’t like a book does not mean someone else could not enjoy it, so instead of committing a book I don’t like to the sea depths, I would prefer gifting it to someone who could appreciate it.

Which book have you read the most?

That would be either Tolkien’s LORD OF THE RINGS or Herbert’s DUNE: in the past (before book blogging compelled me to keep moving forward) I re-read both several times, always enjoying their different, but equally compelling, stories.

Which book would you hate to receive as a present?

Mmmm… that’s a difficult one: people who would give me books as a present know my tastes, so it’s highly improbable that they would choose a book not in line with them. Putting hate aside, let’s say I would not be pleased to receive a book I already own.

Which book could you not live without?

All of them?

Which book made you the angriest?

I guess it would be A GAME OF THRONES: back when I started reading the series, in 2002, I knew nothing of GRR Martin’s penchant for killing off his characters with gleeful abandon, and a certain death by execution toward the end of the book left me angry, stunned and incredulous for quite some time. By now, I’ve learned not to grow too attached to characters…

Which book made you cry the most?

I don’t cry easily over stories, so I will have to mention instead one of the books that elicited the strongest emotional response in me, and I think it must be A BOY AND HIS DOG AT THE END OF THE WORLD, centered around the powerful bond between humans and these four-legged companions who “always walked closest” to us in the long ages of the world.

Which book cover do you hate the most?

Again, hate looks like too strong a word: if I must point the finger at a cover that doesn’t do justice to the contents, I have to mention a few illustration choices for Lois McMaster’s Bujold’s Vorkosigan Saga, like the one below, where Miles Vorkosigan is made to look like a child wearing grown-up clothes…

As usual, I’m not tagging anyone but if you have some confessions to make, here is your chance 😀

36 thoughts on “THE CONFESSIONS TAG

  1. Yeah, no guilt in reading books that give us pleasure 🙂

    I share your sentiments towards Martin, Red Wedding made me give up epic fantasy for some time…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been hearing some really negative things about Nophek Gloss that simultaneously make me nervous and also eager to try it, lol! I’ll be tackling the audiobook though, so hopefully that’ll negate some of the issues! And hey, no hate from me here about Divergent, I also despised that book, lol…but I somehow still read the full trilogy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I tried watching the first Divergent movie in the hope that the change in medium might make the story and characters more palatable, but it dd not work out as well…
      As for Nophek Gloss, negative reviews seem to be a minority so I guess it’s more a matter of “book chemistry” than anything else: I look forward to your take on the book! 🙂

      Like

  3. Ha ha! It’s good you’ve started the New Year with a clean slate! 😀
    That’s the copy of The Vor Game that I have and it makes me shudder every time – just so NOT reflective of Bujold’s story!
    I heartily agree with you about George R R Martin (grrrrrr), and you’ve reminded me I really need to get round to reading A Boy and His Dog.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lol… what a fabulous article! I know what you mean about some of the covers of the Vorkosigan series – there are some real shockers, aren’t there? And SNAP regarding A Song of Ice & Fire – the book literally went flying across the room after the Red Wedding and I also didn’t like Divergent, though I loved Norphek Gloss. But it would be a boring old world if we all loved the same things:)).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed! I gain just as many insights in a book from the negative reviews as from the positive ones, and as usual enjoy the discussions even when they are far from my tastes.
      As for the Vorkosigan covers, we should launch a petition to have them redone with more… tasteful designs… 😀 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I completely agree with the Vorkosigan covers – there are only a couple that come near to doing justice to the books – Cryoburn comes to mind… But most are just dreadful!

        And I agree – I find it so helpful reading reviews, both good and bad. And interestingly, I can often decide NOT to pick up a book from a glowing review when they are praising something I know I wouldn’t enjoy:)).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.