Reviews

2021 Best Reads

The new year just started, but that’s no reason to forget what I read last year and see how well my bookish choices fared: in my case, 2021 was indeed a very good year (to quote an old Sinatra song only an ancient crone like me remembers… 😀 ), with a preponderance of high ratings for the books I picked up. 

Focusing on the best of the best – i.e. the 5-star ratings – I divided them between SF, Fantasy and New Discoveries, where I listed authors I read for the very first time and whose books I greatly enjoyed, prompting me to look for their other works in the future.

SCIENCE FICTION

FANTASY

BEST NEW DISCOVERIES

An amazing list, indeed… And that only for titles that earned a 5-star rating, because there are equally worthy ones in my 4- and 4,5-star reads, but in that case the list would have been far too long.

What about you? What were your best and most engaging reads last year?

24 thoughts on “2021 Best Reads

  1. It’s always fun seeing best of lists full of books I’ve yet to try because it gives me that much more to look forward to. There are certainly some here I’ll be reading one of these days. My favorites included The Pariah, The Poison Prince, Network Effect, and The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Six of Crows is the only one on the list I’ve heard of. I tried listening to it on audio and could not get into it, but I’m going to try to actually read it instead. I really liked Shadow and Bone so hoping to like this one just as much. Day Zero looks great, definitely going to check that one out.

    Ash @ Essentially Ash

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.