Reviews

Novella Review: GREEN-EYED VIPERS (Powder Mage #0.6), by Brian McClellan

In my first search for short stories that complemented Brian McClellan’s epic about powder mages, I must have missed a few, and only a recent search unearthed other works I knew nothing about: it goes without saying that I would not think twice about reading them as well…

Green-eyed vipers is set eight years before the events in Promise of Blood, as Field Marshal Tamas is still collecting allies in his plan to overthrow the Adran monarchy, and it opens on one of the many parties held by the nobility, where politics and personal liaisons move side by side in a complicated dance.  The lady of Skyline Palace, Petara, is a famous (or maybe infamous) widow well known for her wealth, influence and also for the habit of successfully wooing any man she sets her eyes on.  In this particular evening her sights are set on Tamas, a widower himself, and not for the first time: we learn that she has admired, and wanted, him for a long time, but like any good strategist she is patiently waiting for her plan to unfold, savoring every moment.

For his part, the Field Marshal does not seem averse to a little dalliance: he’s famous (or again infamous) for his ability to court young women, and there is a moment in the course of the story where Petara observes the worry of a noble as Tamas kisses his young daughter’s hand.  So everything seems to lead toward the widowed lady’s ultimate goal but… there is always a ‘but’, of course, because we are made privy to an important detail, one that will turn the tables in a most dramatic way.

To say more would be a huge disservice: this story and the surprises it holds must be enjoyed without prior knowledge – although at some point the writing on the wall becomes quite clear…

A great addition to the short works featuring this world, and one that feels quite satisfying.

My Rating: 

6 thoughts on “Novella Review: GREEN-EYED VIPERS (Powder Mage #0.6), by Brian McClellan

  1. I’m a proud owner of a signed hardcover edition of this collection 🙂

    I love it how McClellan adds to his novels by writing these shorter pieces, and this is perhaps not my favourite (The Girl of Hrusch Avenue probably is, at least from this tome), but a very good one. Thanks for reminding me of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I promise myself that I will eventually read this author and hopefully all these additional pieces that feed into his world. I’m so pleased that you’re enjoying these so much, it’s very reassuring.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He’s my absolute favorite character and I love how McClellan manages to build sympathy for him even when he’s being gruff, short-tempered or even cruel…
      This will prove a very satisfying read for any Tamas fan 😉

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.